The headquarters of nepos villae
It is our home. Here, where our dream is coming true. A centuries-old path from father to son, up to the last generation of the grandchildren Anna, Francesco and Lucia Ruffo. A fascinating story that starts simply from a rural peasant house and turns into an eighteenth-century villa. Our home, the whispered tale of our history. For our family a timeless sacred asset that, from 1510, has marked the epic of two Veronese families until today.
from its origins to today
History of the Villa
In the hamlet of Villa of the Municipality of Negrar di Valpolicella stands the villa Quintarelli – Ruffo, an example of the architectural evolution of an original farmhouse which over the centuries has been transformed into a manor house.
The origin dates back to 1510 as evidenced by a marble plaque placed in the greenhouse and a chapel placed in the church; on the southern façade there is a tuff representation of the original house which highlights an important farmhouse with respect to the times.
The coat of arms, in addition to plant decorations, shows a 6-pointed comet that recalls the official coat of arms of the Vicariate of Valpolicella in the period of the Most Serene Venetian Republic.
The dwelling is completed by a private chapel still used today for public worship and some cottages.
The current appearance begins to take shape starting from 1746.
Access to the main floor is via a staircase and a terrace built in 1914.
The main hall has a large table in Italian walnut and a large fireplace still used today. To the left of the living room is the dining room with fireplace and early twentieth century floral decorations. To the right is the living room, also decorated with floral motifs. The main double bedroom has an original terracotta floor, walls and ceiling decorated with floral motifs on a light blue background. The family chapel, used for worship in 1691, has a different north-south trend compared to the original east-west one and is still used for public celebrations and private religious ceremonies. The altarpiece represents the Madonna and some saints. The small Italian garden in front of the villa is decorated with some large tuff representations probably representing Bacchus and Ariadne which harmoniously complete the spaces.
An ancient church
among the vineyards
Next to the Villa, in 1691, a small church was built, still today used for worship. The winemakers feared the adversity of the seasons and the climate. The presence of a small church among the vineyards was a sign of devotion and hope of divine generosity. The chapel dedicated to San Francesco was a reference point for the many districts and scattered houses that were located along the ancient Roman roads in the high hills. The bell still tinkles today and makes its voice heard among the Amarone vineyards.